Robert F. Munroe Timeline

1968 School concept became reality when a group of dedicated citizens banded together to create what became known as Robert F. Munroe Day School in the rural community of Mt. Pleasant. 
1969 School was incorporated as a non-profit day school to be known as Gadsden Day School. The death of board member Robert Fraser Munroe prompted the board to change the name to Robert F. Munroe Day School. 
1970 Grades 1 through 12 opened to students. S.M. Eubanks is first headmaster.
1973 Munroe plays their first tackle football game, losing by a 20-9 score to Perry. 
1977 The "in town" kindergarten was opened in Quincy. 
1980 Ms. Mary Emma Bassett becomes Head of School 
1981 The Bates Science Building was built and dedicated to Mortimer Boulware Bates and George Davis Bates, Jr. Three rooms in Bates Building are furnished and equipped by: Claude Earl Harnett, Julia Munroe Woodward & John Allen Blitch, Joshia Taylor "Joe" Budd, Jr. 
1982 Baseball team makes it to the finals of Class A in the state championship series. 
1983 Library is built and named the Mary Gray Munroe Library in honor of Robert F. Munroe's mother. 
1987 John Allen Blitch Child Development Center for kindergarten and pre-school dedicated to John Allen Blitch. 
1986 Preschool groundbreaking for K3 and K4. 
1990 Billy Don Grant Student Center built through generosity of Billy Don Grant. 
1992 Leslie Jones takes over as the headmaster. 
1994 Girls' basketball team defeats Graceville 39-36 to win the Class A State Championship. 
1997 Elementary building for first and second grade dedicated as the VanLandingham & Mahaffey Building for Hall VanLandingham and Jimmy Mahaffey. Elementary building for third, fourth, and fifth grade dedicated as the Julia Munroe Woodward Elementary Building. 
1998 Gymnasium extensively remodeled and named the Byron and Isabel Suber Complex. Baseball and softball fields completed and games dedicated as the Julia Munroe Woodward Elementary Building. 
2000 Rick Keyser becomes the fourth headmaster. 
2003 Michael Knight named fifth headmaster. 
2005 Auditorium remodeled and named the Carolyn Brinson May Auditorium. 
2007 Alumnus, Jimmy Harris, hired as the sixth headmaster. 
2010 Kindergarten dedicated in memory of Susan Middleton Hinson. Suzie Johnson named Head of School. 
2016 Angus T Hinson Elementary Science Lab & Maker's Space opened in his memory. Gym lobby dedicated and scholarship given in honor of Mr. Woodrow's 46 years at Munroe for his retirement.
search login